Monday, June 4, 2012

Another Scam Victim of Katherine and Tammy Hights Tells her Tale

Yet another sad tale about how the scam works:
Hello, my name is XXXXXXX and I found your blog online. I have recently been scammed by Katherine and Tammy also. Just today actually, I found out it was a scam after I wired this Tammy Hights her money to Fortworth Tx. Our experience with these people are identical. I was saleing a piano on Craigs list for $300. Katherine emailed me interested in it. She wanted me to send her pictures, told me she already had arrangements for it. She sends me a cashiers check for $1990.00 and told me to deposit it into my bank account. I did, she told me to wait until it cleared in my account, she told me to keep an extra $50 for all the hassle and when it cleared in my account, message her ASAP and go to a western union and wire money $1500 to Tammy Hights, who she lead me to believe was the one Picking the piano up. So I did this today. I would have never thought it was a scam until I talked to friends and family about it. I called my bank, and the confirmed the check was illegitimate. I called western union and filed a fraud report on them, but it's hard to tell how many other people they are scamming!! These people are very sly and very deceitful and need to be stopped. I am now out $1500 because of them.. I am sorry this has happened to you also. They are taking advantage of kind hearted people like us. :(

7 comments:

Tiffany said...

That's sad! Sounds similar to the story I got..Beware of the name Jonathan Ortiz!!!! That's a name I was given to money gram him at 778 Newhope street Garden Grove, CA Which by the way doesn't exist. The check was drawn on a Busy Bank from Illinois and the signature was that of a Carol M. Browner of the AOC foundation turns out after googling it that she is a political big wig! Don't think she would be to happy to hear that her name is being used to push bad checks. This person claimed to be hearing impaired. Same MO as the other scams on here. Return address came from Florida Tech, Melbourne Florida.

Amarjeet said...

Thank you for this blog.

house for rent in andalucia
holiday cottages andalucia

Shinethelight said...

This is a scam from Craigslist that's been going on for a couple months that I know of. Another name used is John Owen.

Warn anyone looking for a Personal Assistant position.

Note: This position is home base office work you can be in any location and work with me from your home. Let me know your interest if you are ready to work with me from your home.

Kindly provide me with the following details below:


Full Name:
Full Address:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Sex:
Phone Number:
Age:
Email:
Current Job:

Get back to me with the required details above , So that the pay-check can be forward to you as soon as possible and I will appreciate quick response from you.

Thanks and please get back to me asap and confirm this mail asap.


Regards
Matthew Murray
Phone Num: 720-339-2205
Text Num: 720-722-1054
Email: mmurray284@gmail.com

Lady Deathe said...

Ok, these types of scams have been around FOREVER. How can you NOT get that someone is scamming you when they want you to send them money?

I was given the same address. The difference is, I knew it was a scammer as soon as they inquired about my "item". The address they are mailing their check is the local FBI office. Why? Because scammers are STUPID. They always send the checks by FedEx or UPS so they can know when you've received the money. Well, this costs them money. Hence, I am scamming the scammer out of money. Not a lot of money, but it really pisses them off. They no longer sign their emails with "God Bless" They tell you to F-off after you've told them what you've done to them.

Nancy and Michael said...

From "Josh" ...
aka kauwhsgsbsd@gmail.com

COULD SMELL THIS SKUNK THROUGH THE WIRES...

**************
I was informed by my assistant that your item is still for sale ,i would have
loved to come and see it for my self, but my schedule is very tight.I will mail out your
payment once you provide your full names, phone number and address.I can only
pay via money order as am on a business trip now, pls let me know where to
send your payment to because i wouldn't want to loose it to someone else. I
don't mind throwing in another thirty ($30) dollars as retainer, so you can keep it in my favor. I assure you,
your payment would get to you within 4-6 working days. I really would appreciate if you can get
the ad off craigslist. so i can be sure you are keeping it in my favor.Please
let me know as soon as you receive it so i can start making arrangements for
the pick-up.
Thanks.
Josh.

Melodie Livoti said...

I received the exact same email from "Josh Donald". What a shame, i really need the money too. I thought it odd that i never received an email about where to ship the item.

People Suck

fedupwithangieslist said...

This is what I received today, and yes, it's a scam, although I have not replied to the email.

To: me
From:
J.D
7:14 PM (12 hours ago)

I was informed by my assistant that your item is still for sale. I
would have loved to come take a look, but i've got a pretty tight
schedule, i'm actually in the UK on some business at the moment, but i
buy and resell items online. I can only via you via money order, and
willing to throw in another $30 as retainer if you take the item off
craigslist and hold for me. If you provide me with your mailing
address/ P.O Box # and phone number, i'll instruct my assistant to
mail out payment to you
immediately (you'll receive within 4-6 working days). Let me know if
this works for you.
Ps, i'll start arrangement for pick up once you confirm to me that you
have received payment.
Will wait to read from you
Thanks.
Jorge
____________________________
All right! I am not out of any money, but it is a royal pain to even open the email.
THANK-YOU for this blog.