Thursday, May 24, 2012

Reader Tells of How They were Scammed

This note shows how the scam typically works:
Hi Joey,
I am recently scammed by this Katherine Shepard, before I saw your post. I have lost $1,574. Please post my bad experience to every one. Thanks.

I sent a poster on craiglist at May 4, 2012 to sell my piano, as we are moving to another state recently and cannot move this piano. On May 6, I received a reply from a email "mandotman00@gmail.com" with name of "Katherine Shepard". I continued to contact with this guy and he started to use the email of kshepard2008@gmail.com to contact with me. The price is $270 for this piano. He sent me a fedex with $1,990 check on May, 16. and I deposit this money on the same day in my bank. He asked me to send the mover the moving fee with $1,450 (this price is high as he said the movers will collect more pianos one time). Then I send the cash on May, 17 through western Union. The total money is $1,574 which include $124 transfer fee and $1,450. The receiver is Tammy Hight, fort Worth, Texas 76116. On May 21, which is Monday morning, I found the check of $1,990 is returned, and the Bank agent said this check is not valid. Thus, I lost &1,574 to this Katherine Shepard and Tammy Hight. I have all the record of gmail chat for this issue. Please let every one know Katherine Shepard is a scammer, I hope no one will be scammed by him.

2 comments:

gearle said...

Glad I googls the email from mandotman00@gmail.com who responded to my ad for a piano that I have for sale. AKA Katherine Shepard". sign email from
AKA Elizabeth Clark. both your scammer and mine had the email address mandotman00@gmail.com. I emailed back and siad CASH ONLY IN PERSON after I read your post. Truly sorry you lost your money to this theif but I thank you for sharing your story that allowed me not to make the same mistake. Thank you so much. S.E.

stacey said...

Thanks so much for posting this. We were getting nervous about a response to our piano for sale, and I found this post when I googled the email address mandotman00@gmail.com signed by Elizabeth Clark. We now know not to trust it. I wonder what the best way to catch this creep would be.

Stacey