Here is another one for your blog so that other folks can be aware. The scammer used the following alias "Davon Smith" with the email address togodbetheglory1970@yahoo.com. This is an email address for an impostor responding to an apartment for rent in Craigslist. The additional issue is that the senders email address is listed by Yahoo as "Domain Keys Verified". It is also possible that the domain name, "togodbetheeglory1970 " may be tainted too. Please note that "the" and "thee" are spelled different and both may be used. Keep up the great work with your blog.Here are the detailed responses:
"Do you still have any room available for rent as at now?Is the room of average size?I will like to make an inquiry and to know more about the room.Is the room available as furnished?Do you have pictures of it? I will check in for your reply ..
And the follow up after the initial contact was
Hi thanks so much for your quick reply,I am 26,an easy-going professional female.I had my degrees in Nursing years back at the University of Oregon and i have relocated to UK since 3-years ago for a permanent contract assignment for the Red cross union at the teaching hospital here in UK.I just got your reply message and i am glad to read back the reply to my room inquiry.It's good to know that you have a room open for rent as at now and i will be glad to rent the room asap.Will it come furnished or otherwise so that when i get down there i can then look into furnishing the house to my own preferred taste and get all the basic bed sets in there when i am there in person.I am very interested in the room cos i will there by 22nd of May. I will finish up here in UK and i will be glad to rent the room and let me know the price in your next mail.Kindly reply and let me know more about the room How is the weather like out there at this season of the year?What kind of car will work best there cos i am planning to get a good all- wheel drive when i get there cos i bet i will sure need one.Please hold the room for me and when i am in town in by 22nd of May, I am a very Friendly person and i get along fine with all, i don't do drugs, i do not smoke though i do not have any allergy to people who smoke being around me.I am friendly,i get along easily with all and i will try to see if i can get my picture attached to my next email.In my spare time i read novels and go to the movies on weekends.
I attend a catholic church and i look forward to my stay there.Reply soon cos my finance officer is ready to make payments to you so that you can hold the room down until my arrival.You can sum up the total amount and let me know the sum total too.I Will Be Waiting For Your Reply.........Thanks
Deborah."
3 comments:
I am getting these emails too, from martin_yorke@aim.com
Shan Thomas - tshan50@hotmail.com
Linda Greg - havefaithinthespirit@yahoo.com
Thanks for the blog so I could confirm this!
I got these exact emails from the tshan50@hotmail.com address. Why do people do this?
yep, got one from tshan50@hotmail.com as well. Thanks to your blog, we found out it was a scammer! even though the language sounded off anyway, this confirmed it
Post a Comment