Hello, thanks so much for your blog it was quite an insight into the world of craigslist scammers. I bought a vehicle off craigslist about a year ago and everything was good, recently I attempted to sell an xbox and some games, thinking it would be a good venue I tried craigslist. This was the first correspondence I received:
from: ggsgsghsgh@gmail.com via craigslist.org
Is the item is still in a good condition and still available for sale?I responded:
to kelvinjohn111 <--first red flag, email was different then first
Yes great condition, black controller and three games are less then 2months old, gtaIV and Fallout 3 are older but still work great!He replied:
Kelvin John kelvinjohn111@gmail.com <---alias usedSo... I replied:
Thanks for responding, I'm okay with the price. I would like to send payment asap.Please let me know if a certified Bank check is ok. After my check clears my shipper will come and pick it up at your location.I would have loved to come and take a look but I can't. My shipper will though. If you can get back to me with your details I'll get the check out asap. Need your Full Name and Address Not P.O Box and your Telephone Number.
My wife was excited, thinking we had found a buyer, i was skeptical because craigslist states, in the emails that are sent through craigslist, Avoid money orders, using 3rd parties as "shippers"
You sound an awfull lot like the people who scame craigslisters... call me and we can set somthing up. Probably through paypal, or in person. If you do have a shipper, send him the money and have him bring it to me directly. <<>>I got no reply, I googled his name and didnt find much but there you go, add John Kelvin, Kelvin John, to the list! thanks again for your blog!!
19 comments:
kelvin wanted to buy my bass boat today. i thought it was fishy because he didn't specify what he was buying. He also had two different email addresses. I just flagged his first email.
He wanted to buy my kayak last night as well.
Kelvins tryin to buy my Jetski. haha. he likes watersports.
Kelvin John wanted Paypal info to send me payment and have item picked up at my house.. Kelvin John one busy man. First clue was super weird gmail address and also the second gmail address was different from first. DUHHHH..
Kelvin wanted to buy my mountain bike today and was sure to mention that I should get back with him ASAP!
My first clue was his fishy email address: cdkfkbkgtgll@gmail.com
He definitely has a lot of hobbies and interests!
Name appears again for a vacation rental with multiple e-mails:
vaivaolev@gmail.com via craigslist.org
and
kelvinjohn222207@gmail.com
May 13
am contacting you today to know if me and my husband can use your place for 8 nights in your place .get back to me if the place still available .
Hello, interested in your rental your house me and my husband with 2 kids for the 10th -06.2012 to 20th-06-2012 which the date is flexible for me .I will be in upcoming holiday .Please get back to me -asap-how much is going to cost me per night and the last price for totals for that days ,and your services with security fees. let us know how your working are really serious and date and time you will be fine for you .You may contact me on my email .
Thanks
Susan Kelvin
Please add Lewis John, lewisjohn156@gmail.com to the list.
Add another one to the list. I received the following email for a piano.
Hello
Thanks for responding, I'm okay with the price and the description. I would like to send payment asap. Please let me know if a CERTIFIED BANK CHECK is OK. I want you to send more pictures and after my check clears my shipper will come and pick it up at your location. I would have loved to come and take a look but I can't. My shipper will do that asap. If you can get back to me with your details I'll get the check out overnight . Need your Full Name, Address and your Telephone Number. hope to read from you asap
God Bless
Grace
emails that were used are below
gracefurlong115@gmail.com
jushdtsa@btinternet.com
JOHN Kelvin is a scammer. Tried to scam me off of craigslist for my wedding ring. Said he was buying it for his son. He gave me the address johnmark309@yahoo.com then some Nigeria address. He's a SCAMMER. Don't fall for him!
He wanted to get a sofa from me and sent me a check through priority mail. I just read these blogs thankfully so I know he is a scammer. I priced the item for $850 and he sent me a check for $3,600. Just out of curiosity. What would have happened if I did try and cash the check? How would this scam me? Would he be able to get my bank account info?
he wanted to offer me a high paying job
This jerk has 2 different addresses 1 is a women..julietbone04@gmail.com and the other is this kelvin asshole !!!!!!!
and this bullcrap with these codes
Had the same thing with Kelvin John . When I suggested using PayPal, all of a sudden the emails dried up.
When it sounds too good to be true, STOP and INVESTIGATE. That's how they scam- you're in a hurry and they use it against you.
The e-mail I got was from michellejetn@gmail.com, but I got suspicious because it had the "reply-to" field set to kelvinjohn11@gmail.com. What a tool.
This guy (?) just tried to scam me out of a custom pool cue using the same lame "shipper" and "bank certified check" routine.
He's using the certified check/shipper thing for a tv I'm selling. Scumbag.
By the way, I have a tv for sale...
Oh well! I just replied to kelvin John at Gmail (in Seattle. We should note where these scams are starting from to pinpoint him)
Post a Comment